GUIDELINES AND RULES GOVERNING

Ph. D. Programme

Under Ordinance No. 34 of 2008 of Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University

Applicable from June – 2012



Research Cell (Institute of Research)

Women's Education Society's Smt. Manoramabai Mundle College of Architecture, Nagpur

Preamble:

Smt. Manoramabai Mundle College of Architecture, Nagpur has been granted recognition as "Place for Higher Learning and Research" leading to Ph. D. degree in "Architecture" in the Faculty of Engineering and Technology vide Letter No.: BCUD/R/J/2012/970/01162 dated 15.05.2012 of Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University, Nagpur and Council of Architecture vide letter No. CA/5/Academic-MH20 dated 20th May, 2011.

The research cell will function under the provision of Ordinance No. 34 of 2008. The norms and rules are liable to change as per the amendments made by Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University, Nagpur in the governing ordinance.

1. About Women's Education Society, Nagpur:

Women's Education Society was established in the year 1932. Driven by the mission of overall development of women, the members have always strived hard towards the goal and as an integral part of the society have joined hands with the national policies for development of women.

The objectives of the society are:

- To meet the needs of the society by providing human resource with required knowledge and skill.
- To provide human resource which can effectively function in a variety of social, cultural, geographical, economic and technological situations of the nation.
- To support the development of the nation with special emphasis on progress of women and establish their identity.

2. About Smt. Manoramabai Mundle College of Architecture, Nagpur:

Women's Education Society's Smt. Manoramabai Mundle College of Architecture, Nagpur offers a five year degree course in Architecture in the faculty of Engineering and Technology. The Smt. Manoramabai Mundle Department of Architecture was started in the session 1993-94 and was elevated to the status of a college in 2008-09 after permission granted by the Council of Architecture, New Delhi and Government of Maharashtra.

Post Graduate Course M. Arch. (Architecture Education) has been initiated from session 2007-08. The students of Architecture have a glorious record of merit in the University Examinations. We are proud to say that an era of sincere, enthusiastic and progressive architects has its origin in Smt. Manoramabai Mundle College of Architecture.

3. Admission:

Eligibility for the admission shall be as per the norms of Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University, Nagpur and Council of Architecture, New Delhi. Seats reserved for sponsored, eligible male candidates.

4. Duration:

- The Ph. D. Course offers a Part Time Course. The minimum duration for completion of programme shall be 4 (Four) years.
- Registration shall be valid for the 5 (Five) Years from the date of registration by Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University, Nagpur and no further extension shall be granted under normal circumstances.
- Renewal of the registration shall be as per Clause No. 11 (b) & 14 of Ordinance of Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University, Nagpur.
- 5. Course Requirement:

Every scholar will have to complete the course work prescribed by Research Centre from time to time.

6. Seminar during Ph. D. work:

Research Scholar will be required to give a progress seminar on his/ her research work every six month, a brief write up outlining the work previously done, the current status and the future plans will have to be submitted to the members of the Doctoral Research Committee (DRC) reviewing the research work at least 3 days prior to the date of seminar. Report of the DRC after each six monthly progress seminar shall be submitted and forwarded to Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University, Nagpur.

7. The Committees for Doctoral Programme:

✤ Advisory Board:

- 1. Director of Women's Education Society, Nagpur
- 2. Eminent person from the field of Architecture Education 2 nos.
- 3. Principal, Smt. Manoramabai Mundle College of Architecture, Nagpur (Member Secretary)

Doctoral Research Committee:

- 1. Coordinator of the Doctoral Programme (faculty from the college appointed by the Principal)
- 2. Supervisor (Guide of the Scholar)
- 3. Expert from the field related to the subject
- 4. A member from the Advisory Board
- 5. Principal of the college

8. Thesis Submission:

- ◆ A scholar may submit his/ her thesis only after completion of minimum duration.
- For submission of Ph. D. thesis, a candidate should have at least two papers accepted/ published on his/ her work in an International/ National refereed journals/ conferences.
- For submission by M. Arch. (by Research) a candidate shall have at least one paper accepted/ published on his/ her work in an International/ National refereed Journal/ Conference.
- ✤ A scholar shall be required to deliver a pre submission seminar, and will be allowed to submit his/ her thesis only if the RPC recommends.
- Thesis will be required to be submitted within six months from the date of delivery of pre submission seminar.
- Other norms of Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University, Nagpur

9. Ph. D. Thesis Evaluation:

Thesis Evaluation will be done by Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University, Nagpur.

10. Schedule of Fees:

Rs. 10,000/- (Rupees Ten Thousand only)	: Registration Fees
Rs. 10,000/- (Rupees Ten Thousand only)	: for every six month.

11. Format of the Thesis Document/ Paper Layout/ Illustrations/ Bibliography etc.:

As per the norms of Research Cell, Smt. Manoramabai Mundle College of Architecture and Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University, Nagpur

List of students registered for Ph. D in Architecture under each Guide:

- 1. Prof. S. A. Deshpande
 - i. Ar. Yuvraj Meshram
 - ii. Ar. Shubhangi Kadam
- 2. Dr. Ujwala Chakradeo
 - i. Prof. Sudhir Chauhan
 - ii. Prof. Gauri Shiurkar
 - iii. Prof. Nishikant Manapure
 - iv. Prof. Sampada Peshwe
 - v. Prof. Madhura Rathod
 - vi. Prof. Tarika Dagadkar
 - vii. Prof. Neema Gujarkar
 - viii.Prof. Vatsala Shrinivas
- 3. Dr. Sheeba Valsson
 - i. Ar. Sushma Dhepe
 - ii. Ar. A. Mategaonkar
 - iii. Ar. Radhika Pathak
 - iv. Ar. Aparna Dixit, Pune
- 4. Dr. Ravi Bhargava
 - i. Ar. Sujata Godbole